That's Gay
That's Gay
[Vol. 42] Literally No One Cares ... Until They Do
0:00
-51:09

[Vol. 42] Literally No One Cares ... Until They Do

A conversation with writer, content creator, world traveler, Nasir Fleming.
Headshot via @nasirfleming / Image created via Canva Pro.

Happy Thursday, ya’ll :)

Boy do I have a podcast for you today.

I’ll keep it short and sweet here: This time around I got to sit down with the person that used to edit my articles for a travel website I was obsessed with (Shut Up and Go) – someone I’d only really gotten to know through back and forth emailing and from the opposite end of a screen on YouTube.

Needless to say, I didn’t think I’d ever really meet this person IRL, let alone sit down with them for a podcasting sesh for a newsletter I run.

*Quick sappy note: Could not have conceptualized being here – talking about gay issues with such amazing people – even just a few months ago. Truly loving this, and you guys for reading/supporting :,)

Anyways, so excited to introduce to you this amazing writer, YouTuber, content creator, creative, world traveler and everything in between, Nasir Fleming.

Recording live from my tiny Manhattan living room/kitchen combo, Nasir and I talk about …

  • What it’s like to create content in this day and age (and reminding yourself “literally no one cares” when you’re scared of posting 😉 )

  • The queer content that’s being created today

  • Our experiences traveling (and simply existing) as queer people

  • Why certain assumptions/questions about the black community can accidentally demonize rather than inform (a learning experience for me)

  • And, randomly, Nasir winning prom queen in High School (yes that really happened)

Give it a listen :)

P.S. If you want to keep following Nasir’s journey (as you should), here are the links, as promised.

Instagram: @nasirfleming

Twitter: @nasirmfleming

Tik Tok: @nasirfleming


Image created via Canva Pro.

WEDNESDAY 05/12 – Ellen’s Over

No, not cancelled, although she’s been cancelled many a time before.

Ellen’s ending her show.

It’s true, the Ellen DeGeneres show is calling it quits. It’s set to officially come to a close after the upcoming 19th season.

Ellen told the Hollywood Reporter that the decision to wrap the show has been a long time coming because, “as great as this show is, and as fun as it is, it’s just not a challenge anymore.”

As much as I see the validity in that – especially after doing something for 19 fucking seasons (like, damn) – I can’t imagine the decision wasn’t at least somewhat connected to all the drama that’s been going down with Ellen and her show in recent years (which peaked when Ellen lost almost half of her viewership due to “toxic workplace” and multiple sexual harassment allegations at the onset of the pandemic last year).

Even if you put aside all that drama, rumors and tales of Ellen secretly being a mean, borderline-cruel person to work with have been swirling around for years now. Can’t imagine it’s easy to get on stage and host a show day-in and day-out when you’ve got that constant bad press hanging over your head.

At this point, I don’t know what to think.

Obviously, I stand by and choose to believe the allegations of sexual assault that have come out of the Ellen Show. I know what to think there.

But do I believe Ellen is, on a personal level, truly a mean-spirited person? I’m not so sure.

I didn’t say #cancelellen in the past and I won’t say it now …

1) Because I don’t really believe cancel culture does us any good

2) Because I always take negative press aimed at queer folk and women in the media with the proverbial grain of salt

That’s not to say I don’t support healthy (and necessary) criticism of celebrities, but when I see the internet piling on someone like Ellen – a queer women who has quite literally almost lost the entirety of her career due to her sexual identity before – I tend to take a step back.

Just some food for thought.

Either way, it’s for the best the show is ending, I think. If the allegations that came out over this past year have taught us anything, it’s that The Ellen Show was not a place you wanted to be.


And that was That’s Gay, Volume 42.

See you in Volume 43, folks! 

Want Volume 43? Not signed up yet?

Share this newsletter and help my baby grow!

Share

0 Comments
That's Gay
That's Gay
A biweekly newsletter for all the folks outgrowing "the way things are" – written by a queer kid who knows the feeling.