That's Gay
That's Gay
[Vol. 31] THEY
1
0:00
-2:08

[Vol. 31] THEY

What I mean when I say I'm genderqueer.
1

Happy Monday to my That’s Gay family! :)

I know I said That’s Gay isn’t becoming a full-time podcast (and it still isn’t), but I thought I’d upload an audio version of me reading the entry below in addition to posting it. We love some multimedia madness.

Anyways, this is a journal entry titled THEY.

I wrote it over the weekend, on Saturday morning, heart warmed by a fluffy pupper, stomach full of spinach and eggs. I didn’t think it would become this week’s newsletter – I was just sitting down to journal (a long overdue task) – but here we are.

Although I didn’t write it with this intent, THEY stands as a testimony for what my genderqueerness means to me; or, maybe better put, how it feels within me.

With all the debate and confusion surrounding pronouns and gender, I think we often lose sight of the emotional weight that gender identity carries in favor of watching the circus play out. THEY is a return to that weight; about how it feels to be weighed down by it; about how it feels whenever that weight is lifted.

I left it mostly unedited – minus some embarrassing spelling mistakes and sections where I could only guess what my hand was trying to communicate (#messyhandwritingclub). I did that because it’s just a journal entry; just me telling myself (and now you, too) how I feel.

So, you’ve got options here: read it, listen to me read it, or read it while listening to me read it – wow, sorry, don’t mean to overwhelm you here …

Whichever or whatever you choose, here’s what I wrote on Saturday, sitting out on the patio with the sun on my face:


GIF created via Canva Pro.

04/03/2021 - Saturday

Danced and sang this morning – all alone in the middle of the woods. ‘Twas glorious. I was hesitant to come out to Connecticut but damn, I think I really needed this. 

Ok, here’s what I want to write about today: I need to learn to be as myself as I am alone with other people; to stop apologizing for being.

Because while I do love being alone, I don’t want to be alone, ya know? 

Second, who do I want to be? What kind of person? Let’s envision it, shall we? I want to be someone with more surety – someone with more conviction and less apologies or silent rumination behind their decisions; less guilt for not being what others want or expect them to be; less disappointment in disappointing others because of their emotions – as if apologizing for being human. 

I want to feel the sun on my face and smile ridiculously in it and not obsess over how that makes me look. Wonder, sure – I’m only human – but not obsess like I have been. 

Who is future me? She’s kind of a badass – but not the kind you’d expect. She’s caring and clumsy and funny looking at times, but she lives first, thinks second. She does not dwell. Maybe that’s what makes her a badass. 

I don’t want to set the bar too high for myself – impossibly high. I like myself, I do, I just wish I liked myself a little more, a little more often. And not the “myself” other like, but the “myself myself” – the same one that comes out when I live first; the same one that’s kind of a badass. I want her to exist outside of myself; in front of others, so that she can feel the sun on her face and smile oh so ridiculously in it.

I want him to stop apologizing for her; for who she is. I want him to stop doubting that she can exist anywhere but in the darkness. 

Together, they are who I want to be. 


Lil’ disclaimer: Gender is a spectrum and there are countless ways to experience it. This is just how I felt about my gender on this particular Saturday morning – my words and my words alone.


And that was That’s Gay, Volume 31. See you in Volume 32, folks!

If you liked Vol. 31, share and help my baby grow!

Share

Want Vol. 32? Not signed up?

1 Comment
That's Gay
That's Gay
A biweekly newsletter for all the folks outgrowing "the way things are" – written by a queer kid who knows the feeling.